Follow Jumps Racing on Facebook
Best Price on every horse for all races
shown live on ITV racing
Applies to bets places on Win and Each-wWay Fixed Odds markets from 10am on the day of the race. prices matches against selected bookmakets. Bet restrictions and T&Cs apply.

The Arkle Challenge Trophy

The second race of the Cheltenham Festival is named after one of its most famous competitors, Arkle. Run over exactly two miles of the Cheltenham Racecourse the Arkle requires both speed and good jumping technique.

The Arkle is run at a furious pace and the emphasis is very much on fluent jumping. Analysis of recent Arkle winners points towards entrants coming to Cheltenham on the back of an impressive season. Shocks in the Arkle are few and far between and the Cheltenham Betting market favourites usually perform well.

The Arkle Challenge Trophy was inaugurated in 1969, after Arkle’s three wins in the Cheltenham Gold Cup (1964-66). In its first year, the race was worth £1,365, and was won by Chatham (10/1), trained by Fred Rimell and ridden by Terry Biddlecombe. The 2009 running has total prize money of £170,000. It was known as the Cotswold Chase before 1969.

The Irish Independent Arkle Chase has seen several trainers and jockeys run up strings of wins. Martin Pipe notched up successive wins with Or Royal in 1997 and Champleve in 1998 before Well Chief in 2004 and Contraband a year later gave him another brace of victories. Peter Easterby trained three winners - Alverton 1978, Clayside 1981 and Ryeman 1983.

Among current trainers, Nicky Henderson leads the way with three successes (Remittance Man 1991, Travado 1993 and Tiutchev 2000), while both Paul Nicholls (Flagship Uberalles in 1999 and Azertyuiop in 2003) and Alan King, successful in the two of the past three renewals with My Way De Solzen in 2007 and Voy Por Ustedes in 2006, boast a pair of victories.

Among jockeys, Jamie Osborne won three times, via a hat-trick between 1992 and 1994 on Young Pokey, Travado, and Nakir for three different trainers, Oliver Sherwood, Nicky Henderson and Simon Christian.

Tony McCoy equalled Osborne’s three wins in 2004 when scoring on Well Chief, having also been aboard Or Royal (1997) and Champleve (1998). Robert Thornton was on Voy Por Ustedes in 2006 and My Way De Solzen in 2007.

Arkle Chase Odds 2018

The Arkle betting goes through many changes in the run up to the Arkle as all season the class Novice Hurdlers try their hooves over the larger fences and some take to it really well while others are slow learners. Take for example 2008 Arkle winner, Tidal Bay, has not jumped well in the build up to last years race but on the day he jumped like a stag. His odds fluctuated wildly throughout the season and you can follow the Arkle odds on our site.

Check out the latest Arkle Odds on our comparison tables

Latest Arkle Chase Form

Outlined on this section are the principles for the 2016 Arkle and you can check out the latest form guide on this section.

Arkle Chase Form

Latest Arkle Chase Tips

Look no further than the top trainers for the winner of this race and for more top Arkle tips check out our race tipping preview.

Arkle Chase Tips

Latest Arkle Chase Results

Winners of the Arkle Chase since 2000;

2017 Altior 7 (N De Boinville) 1/4F
2016 Douvan 6 (R Walsh) 1/4F
2015 Un De Sceaux 7 (R Walsh) 4/6F
2014 Western Warhorse 6 (T Scudamore) 33/1
2013 Simonsig 7 (B Geraghty) 8/15F
2012 Sprinter Sacre (B Geraghty) 8/11f
2011 Captain Chris 7 (R Johnson) 6/1
2010 Sizing Europe 8 (A Lynch) 6/1
2009 Forpadydeplasterer 7 (B Geraghty) 8/1
2008 Tidal Bay 7 J Howard Johnson 6/1
2007 My Way de Solzen 7 A King 7/2
2006 Voy Por Ustedes 5 A King 15/2
2005 Contraband 7 M Pipe 7/1
2004 Well Chief 5 M Pipe 9/1
2003 Azertyuiop 6 P Nicholls 5/4F
2002 Moscow Flyer 8 Mrs J Harrington 11/2
2000 Tiutchev 7 N Henderson 8/1

Arkle Chase Results

0 new posts have just been added