Follow Jumps Racing on Facebook
Horse Racing

38 Entries Received For 2018 Sun Bets Stayers' Hurdle At Cheltenham Festival

Thursday 18th January 2018

Sam Spinner, Supasundae, Penhill and Unowhatimeanharry are among the 38 horses entered for the 2018 Sun Bets Stayers' Hurdle, which is the feature race on day three of the Cheltenham Festival on March 15, while Faugheen and Apple's Jade are another brace of eye-catching entries, but that duo are set to take their chance elsewhere at the four-day National Hunt extravaganza.

Jedd O'Keeffe's Sam Spinner has been hugely progressive over timber this season, and propelled to the head of the Stayers' Hurdle betting last month, as he beat the likes of L'Ami Serge and Unowhatimeanharry in the Grade 1 Long Walk Hurdle at Ascot, and that triumvirate could do battle again in this 3m Championship race on day three of the festival.

Supasundae was just touched off by Apple's Jade when the pair met in top-class company over the festive period, but the latter could be set to try and retain her Mares' Hurdle crown earlier in the week, and another unlikely runner is the Willie Mullins-trained Faugheen, who is set to take his chance in the Champion Hurdle on the opening day, if he can bounce back from a poor effort last time out.

Episode 14 - Waiting Patiently Mania And Weekend Preview

Finian's Oscar has been struggling to produce his best over fences, and the Colin Tizzard-trained star could return to the hurdling sphere, and is an interesting entry, while veteran Cheltenham Festival raider The New One could have his first crack at the staying showpiece, and Nigel Twiston-Davies has entered his consistent performer for the Stayers' Hurdle.

Wholestone is another notable Naunton inmate that could fly the flag for the Twiston-Davies yard, and impressed when winning the Relkeel Hurdle at Cheltenham on New Year's Day, while Beer Goggles will hope to show his defeat of Thistlecrack and Unowhatimeanharry in the Long Distance Hurdle wasn't just a flash in the pan, and he is entered, along with former winner Cole Harden, and the gutsy Lil Rockerfeller

Willie Mullins, who won the race 12 months agao with Nichols Canyon, has eight horses entered with Penhill likely to spearhead the Closutton charge, but Bacardys, Let's Dance and Bapaume are all worthy of a mention in a market that is sure to have its twists and turns in the coming weeks with trainers outlining their potential festival plans, as we get closer to the tapes going up.

2018 Sun Bets Stayers' Hurdle Entries

  • Bacardys
  • Ballyoptic
  • Bapaume
  • Barters Hill
  • Beer Goggles
  • Cole Harden
  • Diakali
  • Ex Patriot
  • Faugheen
  • Finian's Oscar
  • Hammersly Lake
  • Knight Of Noir
  • L'Ami Serge
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Lil Rockerfeller
  • Mala Beach
  • Monalee
  • Old Guard
  • Penhill
  • Prince Of Scars
  • Renneti
  • Sam Spinner
  • Shaneshill
  • Supasundae
  • The Last Samuri
  • The New One
  • The Worlds End
  • Thomas Campbell
  • Unowhatimeanharry
  • Wholestone
  • Willoughby Court
  • Yanworth
  • Apple's Jade
  • Augusta Kate
  • Colin's Sister
  • Jer's Girl
  • La Bague Au Roi
  • Let's Dance

2018 Sun Bets Stayers' Hurdle Odds

Faugheen R Walsh / W P Mullins 5/1 3/1
Penhill 6/1 6/1
Thistlecrack 10/1 -
Supasundae R M Power / Mrs J Harrington 10/1 10/1
Apples Jade 10/1 10/1
Samcro 12/1 -
Call Me Lord 16/1 -
Lami Serge - 14/1
Next Destination 25/1 12/1
Wholestone Sam Twiston-Davies / N A Twiston-Davies 12/1 20/1
Farclas 20/1 -
Sam Spinner Joe Colliver / Jedd O'Keeffe 20/1 -
Bacardys Mr P W Mullins / W P Mullins 16/1 -
Bapaume P Townend / W P Mullins 25/1 -
Invitation Only 25/1 -
Ok Corral 25/1 25/1
Sutton Place 25/1 -
Soul Emotion 25/1 25/1
Lil Rockerfeller 25/1 -
Dortmund Park 25/1 -
Apples Shakira 40/1 -
Moon Racer 33/1 -
Arctic Fire 33/1 -
Momella 33/1 -
Chef Des Obeaux 33/1 -
Colins Sister 33/1 -
Ballyandy 33/1 -
Unowhatimeanharry 33/1 -
Blow By Blow 33/1 -
Robin Roe 33/1 -
Kilbricken Storm Harry Cobden / C L Tizzard 33/1 -
Delta Work 40/1 -
Scarpeta 40/1 -
Keeper Hill R Johnson / W Greatrex 66/1 -
Le Breuil 66/1 -
Yanworth B J Geraghty / A King 80/1 -
Golden Birthday 100/1 -
Each Way Terms 3

1. Faugheen R Walsh / W P Mullins
4. Supasundae R M Power / Mrs J Harrington
10. Wholestone Sam Twiston-Davies / N A Twiston-Davies
12. Sam Spinner Joe Colliver / Jedd O'Keeffe
13. Bacardys Mr P W Mullins / W P Mullins
14. Bapaume P Townend / W P Mullins
31. Kilbricken Storm Harry Cobden / C L Tizzard
34. Keeper Hill R Johnson / W Greatrex
36. Yanworth B J Geraghty / A King
Odds correct as of 11th Apr, 12:53 . Odds are subject to change.

Odds Correct At The Time Of Publication

Latest Horse Racing Articles
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Horse Racing £20 FREE Exchange Bet
New customers only, bet up to £/€20 on the Exchange and if your first bet loses, we’ll refund you £/€20 in Cash. Bet must be placed in first 7 days of account opening. T&Cs apply. T&C’s Apply. 18+|Gamble Aware.